Sunday, May 4, 2008

Mumbai Indians win by 29 runs

In 23rd match, Mumbai Indians won the match against Delhi Daredevils by 29 runs in today’s first match of the Indian Premier League on Sunday, which started at 15:30

Earlier, Mumbai Indians gave 163-run target to Delhi Daredevils, which could not achieve it and were restricted to 133 runs. Delhi Daredevils were all out, when still seven balls were to go.

It was only Virender Sehwag who could put up some resistance against their rivals and played 40-run innings with three fours and three sixers.

Other batsmen could add up runs short of the target. Karthik 28, Shoaib Malik 24 and de Villiers could make only 21 runs.

Mumbai Indians’ Nehra bowled out three players against 25 runs. Shaun Pollock and Kulkarni preyed two wickets each.

In the beginning, Delhi Daredevils won the toss and elected to field first against Mumbai Indians. Delhi Daredevils’ Sanath Jayasuriya was the top scorer with 34 runs comprising six fours and one sixer. Shaun Pollock was the second highest scorer with three sixers and two fours.

Yo Mahesh was the most successful bowler from Delhi Daredevils, who showed three Mumbai Indians out into the pavilion. While, Mohammad Asif, Virender Sehwag, Shoaib Malik and Rajat Bhatia achieved one wicket each.

Geo Super telecasted the match live from DR DY Patil Stadium, Mumbai.

In the next IPL fixture Rahul Dravid will lead his team Rajasthan Royals against Chennai Super Kings captained by Mahendra Singh Dhoni in Jaipur.

Mumbai Indians: Ajinkya Rahane, Sanath Jayasuriya, Robin Uthapa, Dwayne Bravo, Shaun Pollock (captain), Abhiahek Nayar, Pinai Shah, Musavir Khote, Dilhara Fernando, Ashiah Nehra, Dhawai Kulkarni.

Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (captain), Gautam Gambhir, AB de Villiers, Shikhar Dhawan, Shoaib Malik, Dinesh Karthik, Rajat Bhatia, Yo Mahesh, Glenn McGrath, Pradeep Sangwan, Mohammad Asif.

1 comment:

ashi.kacheria said...

There is no doubt that both teams played good cricket. But I think that it was Sehwag’s wicket that helped Mumbai Indians win the match. Otherwise it would have been the other way. I am sure that DaredDevils would certainly bounce back. With Sehwag’s captaincy and the perfect team combination they will win the IPL. btw they also have their own blog where they blog about their team players and matches along with the exclusive videos.