Saturday, May 3, 2008

Daredevils’ easy 8-wkt win over Super Kings put them on top

Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir’s solid opening stand of 115 runs from just 11.4 overs guided Delhi Daredevils to an easy eight-wicket victory over their arch rivals Chennai Super Kings in the 20th match of the Indian Premier League here at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk on Friday.

Thus, the Delhi Daredevils ended Mahindra Singh Dhoni’s all win IPL record.

Needing 170, Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir's century partnership took the game away from Chennai Super Kings in the first 12 overs and the Delhi Daredevils achieved the target for the loss of both their openers with one over left.

Captain Sehwag smashed 71 off just 41 balls with four sixes and seven fours while his partner Gambhir made 50 off 37 balls with five fours and one six.

Manpreet Gony and Joginder Sharma were the only bowlers to get one wicket each.
Earlier, the Chennai Super Kings after winning the toss batted first and made 169 runs for six wickets in the allotted 20 overs.

Vidyut Sivaramakrishnan top scored with 54 runs. He hit seven fours and one six for Chennai. Captain Dhoni scored 32 runs off 27 balls with two fours and one six.

Glenn McGrath, Mohammad Asif, Yo Mahesh, Rajat Bhatia and Sehwag took one wicket each.

No comments: