Tuesday, June 24, 2008

ICC introduces women's T20 World Cup

International Cricket Council (ICC) on Tuesday introduced the women's edition of the Twenty20 World Cup alongside its men's version. It will be held in England next year.

Eight nations, including India, will participate in it. The other contenders are Australia, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and the West Indies, who all will also compete in next year's ICC Women's Cricket World Cup in Australia, an ICC statement said.

The men's tournament, which will be staged at three venues -- Lord's, The Oval and Trent Bridge, will include a fourth venue, Taunton, for women.

Both the semi-finals, at Trent Bridge on June 18 and The Oval on June 19, and also the final at Lord's on June 21 will be double-headers with women's and men's matches.

No comments: