Tuesday, April 22, 2008

Delhi Daredevils easily win by 9 wickets against Deccan Chargers

Delhi Daredevils recorded their second consecutive win at ease in the seventh Twenty20 match of the Indian Premier League on Tuesday.

Set a winning target of 143 runs by Deccan Chargers, Delhi Daredevils easily achieved it in only 13 overs for the loss of one wicket here at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.

This was all due to captain Virendar Sehwag’s hurricane innings of 94 not out from just 41 balls with ten fours and six sixes.

After Gautam Ghambir (12) left at 31, Sehwag along with Shikhar Dhawan 25 not out), made 112 runs off just 57 balls for an unbeaten second wicket stand.

Earlier, Deccan Chargers won the toss and elected to bat but they lost their top order batsmen for only 82 runs in 16 overs.

However, Rohit Sharma’s explosive 66 off just 36 balls made a great recovery for his team after star batsmen failed to score. He smashed six fours and four sixes.

Sharma along with tail-enders added 60 runs in just four overs to reach 142-8 in the allotted 20 overs.

Pace-men Mohammad Asif, Rajat Bhatia and Farveez Mahroof claimed two wickets each.

Deccan Challengers did not win any match so far as they lost both their early matches.

Geo Super telecast the match live from Rajiv Gandhi stadium, Hyderabad Deccan.

No comments: